Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel kisses his 2013 Singapore Grand Prix trophy as he slates his seventh victory in the 2013 Formula One Championships. | Photo by Roslan Rahman
By Karl Cedrick Basco

Defending champion Sebastian Vettel continued to rule the 2013 Formula One Championships as he finished the Singapore Grand Prix in a dominating fashion for his third consecutive title and seventh for the season.

Vettel crossed the line after 61 laps way ahead of Fernando Alonso, who is trying to chase him in the leader board, with 32.6 seconds margin. The victory gave the German driver a more comfortable lead in the over-all race tallying 247 points, 60 markers above of Alonso.

The Red Bull driver also secured the pole position in the Marina Bay battle with 1:42.841 while Nico Rosberg and Romain Grosjean landed on second and third spot, respectively. 

Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus settled for third place while Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton completed the top five best finishers. 

Alonso only placed on the seventh position at the start of the race and crawled up to the runner-up ending. Rosberg took the lead on the first turn but Vettel quickly regain it on the second corner and since then, never looked back.

Vettel already hauled seven titles after the 13 events this year while ending up to 12 of which inside the top five. Vettel is gunning for his fourth consecutive F1 trophy, winning the the world’s driver championships in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Meanwhile, Hamilton is currently on the third place for the over-all race with 151 points while Raikkonen has 149 and Vettel’s teammate Mark Webber with 130. For the best constructors contest, Red Bull still on the lead collecting 377 productions while Ferrari is trailing by 103 points for second.

This is also the third consecutive Singapore GP title of Vettel equalizing Graeme Lawrence who also achieved the peat on 1969-1971.

The next race will be held in Korea on October 4 to 6.

Current Drivers’ Standings

Sebastian Vettel 247
Fernando Alonso 187
Lewis Hamilton 151
Kimi Räikkönen 149
Mark Webber 130
Nico Rosberg 116
Felipe Massa 87
Romain Grosjean 57
Jenson Button 54
Paul di Resta 36
Adrian Sutil 26
Sergio Perez 22
Nico Hulkenberg 19
Daniel Ricciardo 18
Jean-Eric Vergne 13
Pastor Maldonado 1
Esteban Gutierrez 0
Valtteri Bottas 0
Jules Bianchi 0
Charles Pic 0
Giedo van der Garde 0
Max Chilton 0

Leave a Reply.


    Recent Posts